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MEDICAL REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE AND NEW SCHOOL ENTRANTS
(PUBLIC, PRIVATE, PAROCHIAL, CHILD CARE CENTERS AND SCHOOLS)

ALL STUDENTS ENTERING A NEW YORK CITY SCHOOL OR CHILD CARE FOR THE FIRST TIME MUST HAVE
A COMPLETE PHYSICAL EXAMINATION AND ALL REQUIRED IMMUNIZATIONS

The comprehensive medical examination must be documented on a Child Adolescent Health Examination Form (CH205)
and include the following:

Weight  Blood Pressure Vision Screening Dental Screening Developmental Assessment
Height Body Mass Index  Hearing Screening Medical History Nutritional Evaluation

All students entering New York City public or private schools or child care (including Universal Pre-K classes) for the first
time must submit a report of a physical examination performed within one year of school entry. Because children develop
and grow so quickly at these early ages, if this initial examination is performed before the student is 5 years old, a second
examination, performed between the child’s 5th and 6th birthday, is also required. Fillable CH205 forms that include the
student’s pre-populated vaccination histories are available in the New York City Immunization Registry (CIR). A savable
version of the pre-populated CH205 is also available in CIR and is accessible for use and updates as needed.

Required Screening for Child Care Only

Screening Required Information

Anemia Screening Hematocrit and Hemoglobin

Lead Screening, Assessment and Testing e Al children under 6 years must be assessed annually for
lead exposure.

e Blood lead tests are required for children at ages 1 and 2
years AND other children up to age 6 years if they are at
risk of exposure OR if no lead test was previously
documented.

e For more information, call the Lead Poisoning Prevention
Program at 311, or visit nyc.gov/html/doh/downloads/pdf/
lead/lead—qguidelines—children.pdf

IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS 2015-16

The following immunization requirements are mandated by law for all students between the ages of 2 months
and 18 years. Children must be excluded from school if they do not meet these requirements. To be considered
fully immunized, a child must have an immunization history that includes all of the following vaccines. The
child’s immunization record should be evaluated according to the grade he or she is attending this school year.

PROVISIONAL REQUIREMENTS

New students may enter school or child care provisionally with documentation of at least this initial series of immunizations. Once
admitted provisionally, subsequent vaccines must be administered in accordance with the Advisory Committee for Immunization
Practices (ACIP) “catch up” schedule for the child to be considered “in process” and remain in school (refer to
www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/catchup.html for schedule). Alternative schedules are not acceptable. Students must
complete the entire series to comply with the law. Students who have not been immunized within the provisional period must be
issued an exclusion letter and excluded from school or child care until they comply with the requirements.

CHILD CARE/PRE-KINDERGARTEN NO. OF DOSES KINDERGARTEN/GRADES 1-12 NO. OF DOSES
DTaP (diphtheria-tetanus-acellular pertussis) OR DTaP, DTP, DT, Td (tetanus-diphtheria) OR
DTP (diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis).......c..cuuvsmrsmrsnssnssnssnssessnnns 1 Tdap (tetanus-diphtheria-acellular pertussis)...........oouueuues 1
IPV (inactivated poliovirus) or OPV (oral poliovirus)...........e... 1 Vaccine type as appropriate for age
MMR (measles-mumps-rubella)...........cceeeevmreresessssssesesesssnees 1 TAAP.cccirrerrss e ——————— 1
On or after the first birthday PV or OPV. ]
or

Hib (Haemophilus influenzae type b)........ccorrrnricrnrerssnsesenns 1

i MIVIR.......cotcerreernrs s sns e e s se s sas s e s snsassesnsnsasassens 1
Hep.atltls Burvrtrtrsntsntst s ! On or after the first birthday
Varicella 1
On or after the first birthday HEPALItiS B.....ouveeeereesrersessessssssssssessssssssssssssesssessssssssssssssessens 1
Pneumococcal conjugate (PCV)........cocvrererseremseresessesessessssesanns 1 Varicella 1
INFIUENZA.......cooecrrecr s 1

Depending on their influenza vaccination history, some children
may need two doses of influenza vaccine




FULL COMPLIANCE

2015-16 School Year
New York State Requirements for Child Care and School Entrance/Attendance’

NOTES: For grades Pre-K through 7, intervals between doses of vaccine should be in accordance with the ACIP-recommended immunization
schedule for persons 0 through 18 years of age (exception: intervals between doses of polio vaccine need to be reviewed only for grades
kindergarten, 1, 6 and 7). Intervals between doses of vaccine DO NOT need to be reviewed for grades 8 through 12. Doses received before the
minimum age or intervals are not valid and do not count toward the number of doses listed below. See footnotes for specific information and dose
requirements for each vaccine.* Children who are enrolling in grade—less classes should meet the immunization requirements of the grades for
which they are age equivalent.

*Footnotes reflect updates as of May 2015. Please refer to www.health.ny.gov/prevention/immunization/schools/ for updated information and
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQS).

PRE—KINDERGARTEN
(Child Care, Head Start, KINDERGARTEN GRADES GRADES GRADES
VACCINES Nursery or Pre—K) through 1 2 through 5 6 through 7 8 through 12
5 doses
Diphtheria and Tetanus or 4 doses if the 4th dose was received at 4 years
G oo | 4 doses
(DTaP/DTP/Tdap)? or 3 doses if the series is started at 7 years of age
or older
Ietal_léls an{i Diphtheria
oxoid-containing vaccine .
and Pertussis vaccine booster Not Applicable 1 dose
(Tdap)®
4 doses 4 doses
; or 3 doses if the 3rd
Polio vaccine (IPV/OPV)* 3 doses or 3 doses 'f;he ird dose 3 doses dose was received 3 doses
was received at 4 years at 4 years of age or
of age or older older

\%%%?:I%siMME)ES and Rubella 1 dose 2 doses
Hepatitis B vaccine® 3 doses 3 doses
Varicella (Chickenpox) vaccine’ 1 dose 2 doses 1 dose 2 doses 1 dose
Egﬁﬂggg'b':gggge&zigﬁ type b 1 to 4 doses Not Applicable
sgggmg‘(’gg“:,?g Conjugate 1 to 4 doses Not Applicable
Influenza Vaccine 1 dose Not Applicable

a. The first dose of MMR vaccine must be received on or after the first birthday. The
second dose must be received at least 28 days (four weeks) after the first dose to be
considered valid.

. Students in grades kindergarten through 12 must receive two doses of
measles—containing vaccine, two doses of mumps—containing vaccine and at least one
dose of rubella—containing vaccine.

o

1. Demonstrated serologic evidence of measles, mumps, rubella, hepatitis B, varicella or polio 6. Hepatitis B vaccine
(for all three serotypes) antibodies is acceptable proof of immunity to these diseases. a. Dose one may be given at birth or anytime thereafter. Dose two must be received at least
Diagnosis by a physician, physician assistant or nurse practitioner that a child has had four weeks (28 days) after dose one. Dose three must be at least eight weeks after dose
varicella disease is acceptable proof of immunity to varicella. two AND at least 16 weeks after dose one AND no earlier than 24 weeks of age.
2. Diphtheria and tetanus toxoids and acellular pertussis (DTaP) vaccine. (Minimum age: 6 b. ;\;Vggd: ?istm::gur:tr; ‘;,ig:'ssvsiff a:gg:;eﬂgzerce%n;il;s/rﬁ)é)nfce|ved at least four months apart
weeks_) - . . ) . . ¢. Administration of a total of four doses of hepatitis B vaccine is permitted when a
a. Children starting the series on time should receive a 5—dose series of DTaP vaccine at combination vaccine containing hepatitis B is administered after the birth dose. This
ages 2,4, 6*,15 through 18 months, and 4 years (,Jf age or older'. The fourth dose fourth dose is often needed to ensure that the last dose in the series is given after 24
may be received as early as age 12 months, provided at least six months have elapsed weeks of age.
since the third dose. However, the fourth dose of DTaP need not be repeated if it was
administered at least four months after the third dose of DTaP. The final dose in the series 7. Varicella (Chickenpox) vaccine. (Minimum age: 12 months)
must be received on or after the fourth birthday and at least six months after the previous a. The first dose of varicella vaccine must be received on or after the first birthday.
dose. The second dose must be received at least 28 days (four weeks) after the first dose to
b. If the fourth dose of DTaP was administered at age 4 years or older, the fifth (booster) dose be considered valid.
of DTaP vaccine is not necessary. b. Two doses of varicella vaccine are required for students in grades kindergarten, 1,6 and 7.
¢. For children born prior to 1/1/2005, doses of DT and Td meet the immunization ¢. One dose of varicella vaccine is required for pre—kindergarten and grades 2 through 5 and
requirement for diphtheria toxoid—containing vaccine. 8 through 12.
d. Children ages 7 through 10 years who are not fully immunized with the childhood DTaP o . . ) .
vaccine series should receive Tdap vaccine as the first dose in the catch—up series; if 8. Haemophilus influenzae type b conjugate vaccine (Hib). (Minimum age: 6 weeks)
additional doses are needed, use Td vaccine. A Tdap vaccine (or incorrectly administered a. Children starting the series on time should receive Hib vaccine at 2, 4, 6, and 12 through
DTaP vaccine) received at 7 years or age or older meets the sixth grade Tdap requirement. 15 months of age. ) )
For previously unvaccinated children 7 years of age and older, the immunization b. If two doses of vaccine are received before 12 months of age, only three doses are
requirement is three doses. Tdap should be given for the first dose, followed by two doses required with dose three at 12 through 15 months of age and at least eight weeks after
of Td in accordance with the ACIP recommended immunization schedule: these children dose two. ) . )
should receive an initial Tdap followed four weeks later by a Td, and then six months later c. If dose one is received at ages 12 through 14 months of age, only two doses are required
by another Td. with dose tvyo at Iegst eight weeks after dose one. ) .
d. If dose one is received at 15 months of age or older, only one dose is required.
Tetanus and diphtheria toxoids and acellular pertussis (Tdap) vaccine. (Minimum age: 7 years) e. Hib vaccine is not required for children 5 years of age or older.
a. Students 11 years of age or older entering grades six through 12 are required to have one . ’ - )
dose of Tdap. A dose received at 7 years of age or older will meet this requirement. 9. Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV). (Minimum age: 6 weeks)
b. Students without Tdap who are 10 years old in grade six are in compliance until they turn a. Children starting the series on time should receive PCV vaccine at ages 2, 4, 6, and 12
11 years of age. Bl;r;)ggh 15 months of age. The final dose must be received at age 12 through 15 months
Inactivated poliovirus vaccine (IPV). (Minimum age: 6 weeks) b. Unvaccinated children 7 through 11 months of age are required to receive two doses, at
a. Children starting the series on time should receive a series of IPV at ages 2, 4, 6 through least four weeks apart, followed by a third dose at age 12 through 15 months.
18 months, and 4 years of age or older. The final dose in the series must be received on or ¢. Unvaccinated children 12 through 23 months of age are required to receive two doses of
after the fourth birthday and at least six months after the previous dose. vaccine at least eight weeks apart.
b. For students who received their fourth dose before August 7, 2010, four doses separated d. If one dose of vaccine is received at 24 months of age or older, no further doses are
by at least four weeks is sufficient. required.
¢. If both OPV and IPV are administered as part of a series, a total of four doses should be e. For further information, refer to the PCV chart available in the School Survey Instruction
administered regardless of the child’s current age. Booklet at www.health.ny.gov/prevention/immunization/schools/.
Measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR) vaccine. (Minimum age: 12 months) 10.  Influenza Vaccine

a. All children 6 months through 59 months of age enrolled in New York City Article 47 & 43
regulated pre—kindergarten programs (Child Care, Head Start, Nursery, or Pre—K) must
receive one dose of influenza vaccine between July 1 and December 31 of each year.
Some children may need two doses of influenza vaccine, depending on their prior
influenza vaccination history. Please refer to the Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention (cdc.gov/flu) or New York City Department of Health
(nyc.gov/html/living/immun—prov.shtml) websites, or check the child’s immunization
record in the Citywide Immunization Registry for additional information and guidelines.

For further information contact:

New York State Department of Health, Bureau of Immunization, Room 649, Corning Tower ESP, Albany, NY 12237, 518—473-4437
New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Program Support Unit, Bureau of Immunization, 42—09 28th Street, 5th
Floor, LIC, NY 11101, 347—-396—-2433.

Office of School Health Citywide Contact Number (all districts): 347—-396—4720 Fov 515
ev



